[Unitree A1] Integrate Unitree 4D LiDAR L1 on Unitree A1 for SLAM and obstacle avoidance

Hello Community,

I am relatively new to this technology, but I am very interested in it. I recently bought a used Unitree A1 at a good price. I have already checked the robot and tested all the functions using the Unitree app. Along with the robot, I received a 4D LiDAR from Unitree, but the sensor has never been integrated. I would like to do that now.

My goal is to use the SLAM function (via the app) and obstacle avoidance. I have done some research on this and read on different sites that the SLAM function with a 4D LiDAR might be too demanding for the built-in PC. The robot is an Explorer model, and the LiDAR has a TTI UART interface connected to a UART-to-USB converter.

My idea is to connect directly to the robot’s controller (ROS) and install the LiDAR via USB. Then the sensor data should be transferred to the Unitree app’s SLAM function. Is that correct?

Regards
Nico

Dear @Lee_13,

TL;DR Unitree app cant be used for custom functions including SLAM

It is possible to use the 4D LiDar from Unitree to perform Simultaneous Localization and Mapping as well as autonomous Navigation in ROS. However, the mobile app of Unitree is closed source and there is no access to it. At most you can make the web server on the robot and use your own custom app or web address connected to the robot’s server to interface with it.

This will work.

This won’t work, currently only the GO2 will work with the SLAM if you are replacing its inbuilt lidar (because it was designed for it), everything else including aliengo, a1, go1, h1 would require custom setup.

Cheers,
S. O. Sohail

Hello Mr. Sohail,